The Nightwatchman


A quarterly collection of essays and long-form articles, published by Wisden

The Nightwatchman logo

Exhibiting at:

  • Lord's 2017


The Nightwatchman features an array of authors from around the world, writing beautifully and at length about the game and its myriad offshoots. Contributors are given free rein over subject matter and length, escaping the pressures of next day deadlines and the despair of cramming heart and soul into a few paragraphs.

Contributors so far include Dileep Premachandran, David Foot, Gideon Haigh, James Holland, Suresh Menon, Patrick Neate, Alex Massie, Liam Herringshaw, Anjali Doshi, Rob Smyth, Rahul Bhattacharya, John Crace, David Tossell, Aakash Chopra, Alan Tyers, Mark Rice-Oxley, Jonathan Wilson, Anand Vasu, Vaneisa Baksh, Andy Zaltzman, Nicholas Hogg, Scott Oliver, Peter Della Penna, Marcus Berkmann, Osman Samiuddin, Richard Hobson, Tom Holland, Isa Guha, Jon Hotten, Rob Steen, Robert Winder, Amol Rajan, Jarrod Kimber, Christian Ryan, Tanya Aldred, Matthew Engel, Ed Smith, Kate Laven, Charlie Connelly, Daniel Harris, Patrick Kidd, Harry Pearson, Martin Crowe, Mike Marqusee, Michael Henderson, Dan Waddell, Tony Cozier, Adam Chadwick, Jonathan Liew, Ivo Tennant, Rob Bagchi, Huw Turbevill, Ali Mitchell, Geoff Lemon, Alec Swann, Anthony McGowan, Nathan Leamon and Joe Wilson.

The Nightwatchman will be sharing a stand with Wisden at All Out Cricket LIVE 2017 (Lord’s).